Life Lessons Out the Wazzoo

I have a lot of time with myself here in Poland.  That means the voices in my head are free to jibber-jabber all the livelong day.  Sometimes, they tell me that all the people here are staring at me in a mean way.  Sometimes, they tell me that my kids are plotting to drive me insane.  Sometimes, they say good stuff.

The boys and I ventured out on their first scooter ride, and the voices were on fire with good stuff.  Here are some things they taught me.

Lesson 1: Just go for it!  I was very worried to have the boys on these bumpy sidewalks and hills on wheeled vehicles with no brakes.  My kids are a bit accident-prone.  Alex has already broken his arm.  Also, I’m kind of a spaz and fall/bump into things/hurt myself mopping the floors all the time.  So, you know, genes are not so good in that area.

In spite of being anxious, I took them anyway.  And, lo and behold, no one broke anything!  Also, they rocked the safety gear like models.

Locked and loaded ladies!

Lesson 2: Exercise really does lift your spirits and make you not so yelly.   I came home in such a great mood.  I wanted to write blogs, watch TV, and read!  All at once!  While tap dancing!

Lesson 3: My kids are pretty easily amused.  Actual quotes that show their happiness:

“I didn’t even get hurt!” (See, we do fall a lot around here.)

“I’m so excited!  They built two paths!”

“Monkey bars Mommy! MONKEY BARS!”

Have you EVER seen 2 paths?!?!?

Left the scooter safety gear on for good measure

Lesson 4: Kids learn to ‘spin’ the situation at a very early age. At one point, Alex crashed onto the grass but explained it this way, “I was just trying to be a cool man.”  Well, son, you sure were cool sprawled out on the grass with your Lightening McQueen scooter on top of you.

Later, Jack cut in front of a kid on a bike and almost caused a crash.  I had already told them not to get in front of each other or anyone else on the path.  (I know, that makes scootering with your brother so NOT fun.)  Jack had this to say for himself, “I was trying to get in his way to make him ring his bell.”  How about next time you just ask the kid to ring his bell?

Lesson 5: Twins are separate people, and there are going to be times when that totally sucks.  Alex, though clearly saddled with my penchant for random accidents, is ‘the athletic one’.  God, I hate even writing that.  It’s just that he has very long legs and is very fast.  He seems to pick up new physical skills pretty quickly.  He also seems to really enjoy being very active.  Jack likes being active too but doesn’t feel the need to master a new skill immediately.

At the start of our adventure on the scooters, they were both so happy to be out and using their scooters.  Pretty quickly Alex zoomed ahead though.  Jack was nervous on the hill by our apartment so I hoped he would stay closer to Alex once we hit the smooth, level bike path.  No such luck.  Jack stopped and turned to me and said, “Alex is too fast.”

And my heart fell right out onto the ground.  Jack was losing the joy for riding his scooter because brother was so much faster.  It killed me.  I tried my very best to tell him that the point was to enjoy yourself and that he didn’t have to be like anyone else.  Jack is a very resilient kid.  He dug deep and got the joy back.

But I was still shaken.  I don’t want my Jack to be Alex.  I love the Jack.  He is so awesome.  Alex is a super Alex too.  I need them both to be individuals.  They are perfect the way they are.  But…..we all know that the opinions of Mommy and Daddy don’t hold sway forever.  Eventually, someone will say something about Alex being more athletic.  Or Jack being so tough and strong-willed.  Someone will make it seem like one trait is better than another.  Or like only one of them can enjoy sports or be sweet.  And those negative thoughts have a way of living and growing in a person’s brain.  Trust me, I know this all too well.

Lesson 6: The truth is, however, these boys are still ours.  They are still little and learning and growing.  They believe us when we tell them they are perfect they way they are.  And, if we do our jobs right, it is still possible that our voices will ring the loudest in their heads. (Y’all, this is a serious moment, but I know you’re dying to make a joke about how there is no voice louder than mine.  HaHa.  Keep it to yourself.)

And just to prove how sweet and little and awesome my boys are, I leave you with some more quotes from our fun adventure.

“Mommy thank you for letting us scooter.” So sweet! Unless they are implying I never let them do anything fun……crap!

“The grass is where you spin out.” Yes baby, spin out all you want.

“Alex is always doing crazy things!”  You are so right Jack.  He’s so lucky to have you there to watch out for him.

Stick together boys. Have fun!

How do you keep from comparing your kids?  How do you react when others do it?  Leave me some comments please!  It will be like we’re having a conversation!  So much better than the ones I have in my head….

5 thoughts on “Life Lessons Out the Wazzoo

  1. I love your perspective!!! It’s definitely hard not to compare them. I always find myself trying to make sure I say something positive about both of them if I comment about something great one of them did. Oh and I would have been a nervous wreck about the scooters. Great job!! 🙂

  2. My girls are identical (not sure if your boys are) and its impossible not to compare them. I mean, they have the same DNA! But they are freakishly different. *sigh* I’ve resolved to just take on each situation as it comes. Lately, I feel like a total witch when one of my friends or relatives will challenge them to a task or activity by using their twinship, (like “who is the fastest runner?”) and I am quick to tell them that we “try not to pit them against each other”.

Leave a Reply

