Grammys? A lot of Grandmothers?

So, the Grammy Awards happened.  I didn’t see it on account of the seven hour time difference here in Poland.  And also on account of my music brain being full of Def Leppard and generally stuck in a music rut.

Why yes this picture was taped inside my Trapper Keeper, why do you ask?

It’s not just new pop music and rock stars who get no love from me.  I got nothing in my head for country either, a former love of mine. That space is entirely reserved for Garth Brooks (pre-Chris Gaines obviously) and 80’s classics like Alabama and Dolly Parton.  Also any country music liked by Troy Aikman such as Toby Keith before he became all, “America is so kick ass I will kill your mother if you say a bad thing about it!”  I never had a lot of interest in other music except for show tunes from a small group of musicals loved by my brother: A Chorus Line, Cats, Evita, The Phantom of the Opera.

I know Adele won a bunch of awards, and I actually own her album “21” because it speaks to 16 year-old stalker, emo me.  I’m happy to see the Foo Fighters won, but I can’t tell you one song from their most recent album.  I love that Lady Antebellum song about drunk dialing because well, obviously, that speaks to college me (Let’s pretend I started drinking then.)  I hate Chris Brown, and the word on the street is he performed and generally douched it up because he has no idea how to show remorse.

In other words, I have no real opinion on the awards or their recipients and have not had one in some time.  I love the pop culture aspects of the show but don’t give any damns about the music.  I’m going to go ahead and put it out there.  I am a new music failure and don’t see any reason to change since iTunes insures that I will have my beloved hits of the 80’s for all time.  I plan on rocking to Hysteria in the nursing home and reminiscing about the time I danced to Prince’s “1999” on New Year’s Eve 1999.

In Poland it seems the radio stations are constitutionally obligated (Does Poland operate under a constitution? How the hell do I know? I’m American for God’s sake.) to play a song from Dirty Dancing once a week-specifically “She’s Like the Wind” or “Hungry Eyes.”  There is also an odd amount of Tina Turner played.  It is therefore easy to bury my head in the musical sand while here and stick to some tried and true favorites.

*  Dixie Chicks-Songs I Can Sing Like I Know How to Sing (Not the name of any album but should be)–These ladies may have some PR issues and what not, but they know from heartache y’all.  They know how to sing from the heart about the heart.  When I play the Dixie Chicks it is with the sole intent of singing into my hairbrush.  Or for the adoring audience on the freeway watching me in my car.

*  Radney Foster’s See What You Want To See–I luuurve this album and have seen him live a couple of times.  This song has deep associations with my marriage and is just all kinds of awesome.  Give it a try; you won’t be sorry.

* A Chorus Line–This album is not only sung at the top of my lungs but includes dancing.  I only play this while alone.  Or in the car at night.  I won’t even tell you which parts become ear worms, but they are totally inappropriate and hard to get rid of.

* Taylor Swift “Love Story” “Today Was A Fairytale” “Mine” and “You Belong to Me”–Thanks to the genius of iTunes I can just buy the songs I like.  For some reason these songs get played while I do dishes.  These songs make me think I can sing well.  Taylor has the same delusions.

Taylor Swift…Joe Elliott…Worlds colliding….brain hurt…

I could go on, but I think you get the idea.  I am not hip to the music scene.  Or whatever phrase is a more hip way to describe my affliction.

I love music that reminds me of an event or a season.  I love songs that I can belt out whilst doing chores or trying to get super excited about a Polish lesson I have not prepared for.  Music does speak to my heart and make me happy.  I’m just all full at the moment and have no room for more.  I’ll try to make some room by forgetting maybe Cinderella or Queensrÿche or maybe even a Madonna dance song or two.  But don’t you dare ask me to give up any Def Leppard.

2 thoughts on “Grammys? A lot of Grandmothers?

  1. I often wonder how nursing homes will be like when we reside there. There are so many genres of music now.
    Can you picture a 90 year old jamming to Jay-Z?
    It would be hilarious!!

  2. Okay, so here’s my list of recommendations. Adele, Beach Boys, Beatles, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Trampled by Turtles, Phish, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Mumford & Sons, Dave Matthews Band, Sheryl Crow, Stevie Nicks, Fleetwood Mac, Tori Amos, La Rocca, James, David Gray, Coldplay, Grateful Dead, Sarah McLachlan, Bare Naked Ladies, Wakey Wakey, Michael Jackson, Allman Brothers, Jimi Hendrix, the Doors, Indigo Girls, Johnny Cash, Bob Marley and the Wailers, Florence and the Machine, Harry Connick Jr, Jewel, U2, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Wilco.

    Musicals I love are Wicked, Secret Garden, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Beautiful Game, Rent & Aida.

    I also loved the hair metal bands. My sister and I wanted to be Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart. I loved Def Leppard, but I do not own any of their music.

Leave a Reply

