Polish Word Wednesday 4

A weekly service where I teach you some Polish.*

książka–[kshonshkahnoun; book

Example Sentence: Stephanie was so silly; she hoped she would know enough Polish at the end of two years to read a książka, a book in Polish. She probably can if it’s a children’s book about counting and goes no higher than 19.

Notes: I cannot stop looking at bookstores here even though not much is in English. I occasionally find a magazine I am interested in, like Redbook or Ladies’ Home Journal. I like this British magazine called Red, and could buy British Vogue if I cared about dressing up for my days of sitting in the apartment. There is a large bookstore chain that usually has one small section of books in English. For some reason, they love Harlan Coben and have all the Sookie Stackhouse novels available. They also seem down with translating Terry Pratchett, which seems an odd choice.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, a video:

What words or phrases are you dying to see me explain? Let me know, and you just may see your word in my words next week.

*Be advised that I know less Polish than just about everyone. Please do not use my lessons to actually speak Polish.

7 thoughts on “Polish Word Wednesday 4

  1. I liked the “see you soon”. Your Dad and I (mostly me) thought we could learn enough Polish to handle everything while you were gone for a few days in July 2011. Surprise, surprise–thank God for Google translate and some very nice polish people. Do you remember the new washer delivery in the rain? Polish and a gate key would have been good. Miss you, Love Mom

  2. I loved this! Please know that you are teaching me Polish on the sly. I plan on blubbering all the words you teach us to my Polish friend the next time we work together. She’ll be confused and I’ll feel like I accomplished something this year. Also? I think you should do a video every time, mostly so we can hear you say “see you soon” in Polish each time.

Leave a Reply

