Danger Zone-Stream of Consciousness Sunday

Today I’m joining my friend Jana in a little writing exercise. She’s giving me 5 minutes to write my heart out. I’m not allowed to edit the post, so please enjoy my word vomit in its purest form.

Today’s (totally optional) prompt:

What have you done recently or would like to do that’s outside your comfort zone?

What have I done outside my comfort zone? Oh, not much. Just moved to Poland. You know, the country. No biggie.

Huge biggie. Oh my God, so huge.

I cannot believe that I actually did it. I sit here three months away from returning to Texas, and I cannot grasp what I’ve done. I’ve lived so far away from my parents. I’ve spent many days alone with my kids. I’ve taken my husband to the ER. (We thought my kids were getting to see their first dead body, but it turns out it was just a drunk. Whee!) I’ve learned enough Polish to amaze my friends and confuse the locals. I’ve cooked with ingredients in foreign wrappings with no English to guide me.

Today, I was driving home from the grocery store and a though popped into my head. “I am so happy right now.” I felt a little silly, but then I felt proud. I’m in the dark times in Eastern Europe; we are dangerously close to the days where night falls at 5pm. But, instead of feeling blue, I’m feeling happy. I’m happy to be home from our Texas trip and back with Michael. I’m happy he cleaned the apartment and the car. (So happy. And lucky.)

I can’t believe I did it and that now this is my comfort zone. I can’t imagine what dangerous adventure I’ll take up next. Maybe I’ll cook in America too!

28 thoughts on “Danger Zone-Stream of Consciousness Sunday

  1. I had to go read your “About Me” after reading this. I’m so fascinated by your life. And I love your attitude. Maybe you are balanced, fellow Libran. I’m going to follow you so I can learn more about your unique life!

  2. Now THAT’S pretty far outside your comfort zone. For me, just going to Texas would be like visiting another country. The closest I’ve ever come to visiting the Deep South is Key West, and I have a feeling it’s not exactly the same.

  3. This is so impressive! I dream of going off to another country and setting up home – and you have done it. Glad you are starting to feel more at home and more happy. I hope that the earlier darkness does not ruin your feelings of goodness and that you continue to be able to learn the language and cook items that you can’t even read (another impressive feat).

  4. You are my new hero (only slightly kidding), as I can relate – in a very, very small way.

    Eleven years ago, next month, I quit my job, sold my car, and bought a bus ticket. After about 3 days of unreal travelling (I hate travelling), I arrived in my new home – Arizona.

    Not nearly as impressive as moving from Texas to Poland (after all, they do almost speak the same language here as in Michigan), but terrifying, nonetheless, for me.

    So happy to hear that you’re feeling comfortable.

  5. Another blogger I know moved to Holland with her husband. I am in awe of her, and now in awe of you. Talk about the biggest adventure! I talk the talk but I’m a chicken when it comes to the walk… hence the awe. Great post 🙂

  6. I love this. Best thing I ever did was to go over to Spain for 6 months. I was a twitchy, nervous wreck until right before I left. I was so far out of my comfort zone. I finally learned to adjust to the laidback pace, and I spoke like a native. Too bad the Gap overalls from the mid 90s made me stand out like the American exchange student I was! I love this, and I love your stories of Poland. It is now on my bucket list of countries to visit because of you.

  7. That is awesome and after the Monday that I am having I need to warn you that I might show up on your doorstep. Once upon a time I had family in Poland and it just might be time to go try to reclaim our land.

    Poland to Texas- well that sounds like a book just begging to be written, pretty cool stuff.

  8. Pingback: I Don’t Understand (Stream of Consciousness Sunday) | Talking Is My Primary Function

Leave a comment